Celiac, what can we eat and what foods are banned in a gluten-free diet?
Nowadays celiac disease or known as an intolerance to gluten and one of the most common diseases. It affects about 1% of the population in the world. It is a chronic autoimmune condition, characterized by permanent intolerance to different protein fractions of gluten. Celiac causes villous atrophy - it is a destruction of the lining of the small intestine.
In case intolerance is diagnosed, the only known treatment is to follow a strict gluten-free diet and for life.
Where can we find gluten?
The treatment for celiac disease is a gluten-free diet. But the respect of this diet raises the question what are the banned foods based on gluten, which must be excluded.
- Gluten is found in wheat flour, barley or rye, oats, kamut, spelled, wheat
- Foods cooked with these cereals - breads, pastries, cookies, pizzas, hamburgers and others
Or the burgers
- Pasta - spaghetti, macaroni
Food with gluten - spaghetti
- Cereal coffees
- Soups instanées
- Spreadable cheeses
- Dried figs, which are often floured
- Meat and cooked fish
- Gluten can be masked - malt vinegar, for example, or soy sauce and tamari
- Breaded dishes
For a gluten-free diet, breaded dishes are forbidden
- Also in the cube broths
- Some mustards
So, there are gluten-free products on the market, but it is better to check the product label. From the point of view of gluten-free foods, we present you here a list to facilitate you.
First, you need to replace wheat flour, for example with:
- Potato flour
- Soy flour
- Of coconut
Since coconut flour is gluten-free
- Chickpea flour
- Amarantes too
And the other products that are naturally gluten-free:
- The fruits
Fruits are also preferred for a diet
- The vegetables
Salad to be healthy, and also gluten-free
- The meat
- The coconut
- The corn
- Legumes - peas, lentils
Or peas for a gluten-free diet
Because it's a perfect combination - seafood and black rice
- Nuts - from Brazil, macadamia, and also hazelnuts and others
- Natural yogurt
Finally natural yoghurt, of course
Finally, it is best to ensure that gluten-free products have not been contaminated with a food containing gluten - in contact with wheat, for example. That's why you must always read the labels.